Civil Engineering - Concrete Technology - Discussion

Discussion Forum : Concrete Technology - Section 5 (Q.No. 3)
Sands of zone I are
medium to fine
Answer: Option
No answer description is available. Let's discuss.
5 comments Page 1 of 1.

Tanaji said:   6 years ago
Zone I - Coarse Sand.
Zone II - Normal Sand.
Zone III - Fine Sand.
Zone IV - Very Fine Sand.

Ahsen Hamid said:   7 years ago
Can anyone please tell what are the different sand zones?

Charan.P said:   7 years ago
Zone-I represents the coarse sand and zone-IV represents the finer sand in all the four zones.

Vikash kushvaha said:   7 years ago
These specifications do not specify any limit for fineness modulus to be used in concrete. It divides the sand in four zones i.e. from Zone I to Zone IV. Zone I"Sand being very coarse and Zone 4 sand is very fine. It is generally recommended by code to use sands of zones I to Zone III for Structural concrete works.

Krishan said:   5 years ago
Why zone 1 is coarse. Max w/c ratio is max for zone 1.

Post your comments here:

Your comments will be displayed after verification.