Civil Engineering - Concrete Technology - Discussion


Sands of zone I are

[A]. coarse
[B]. medium
[C]. medium to fine
[D]. fine.

Answer: Option A


No answer description available for this question.

Ahsen Hamid said: (Mar 18, 2017)  
Can anyone please tell what are the different sand zones?

Charan.P said: (Sep 8, 2017)  
Zone-I represents the coarse sand and zone-IV represents the finer sand in all the four zones.

Vikash Kushvaha said: (Oct 22, 2017)  
These specifications do not specify any limit for fineness modulus to be used in concrete. It divides the sand in four zones i.e. from Zone I to Zone IV. Zone I"Sand being very coarse and Zone 4 sand is very fine. It is generally recommended by code to use sands of zones I to Zone III for Structural concrete works.

Tanaji said: (Apr 11, 2018)  
Zone I - Coarse Sand.
Zone II - Normal Sand.
Zone III - Fine Sand.
Zone IV - Very Fine Sand.

Krishan said: (Jan 25, 2019)  
Why zone 1 is coarse. Max w/c ratio is max for zone 1.

Post your comments here:

Name *:

Email   : (optional)

» Your comments will be displayed only after manual approval.