Current Affairs - Persons - Discussion

Discussion :: Persons - Latest Current Affairs (Q.No.1533)


Who has become the first woman to win the Abel Prize?

[A]. Shafi Goldwasser
[B]. Jocelyn Bell Burnell
[C]. Karen Uhlenbeck
[D]. Ingrid Daubechies

Answer: Option C


University of Texas professor Karen Uhlenbeck has become the first woman to win the Abel Prize, a mathematics honour first given in 2003. The 76-year-old was awarded for the impact of her work on "analysis, geometry and mathematical physics". Modelled after the Nobel Prize, the Abel Prize is presented by the King of Norway and carries a $700,000 cash award. The award was awarded by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters in Oslo.

Post your comments here:

Name *:

Email   : (optional)

» Your comments will be displayed only after manual approval.