General Knowledge - Honours and Awards - Discussion

Discussion :: Honours and Awards - Section 1 (Q.No.39)


Who among the following is a winner of the Indira Gandhi Award for National integration?

[A]. Aruna Asaf Ali
[B]. Ashok Kumar
[C]. Sundarlal Bahuguna
[D]. M. G. K. Menon

Answer: Option A


No answer description available for this question.

Randhir Verma said: (Jan 7, 2012)  
Aruna Asaf Ali (July 16, 1909 - July 29, 1996, Haryana in a Bengali Brahmo family.), born Aruna Ganguli, was an Indian independence activist. She is widely remembered for hoisting the Indian National Congress flag at the Gowalia Tank maidan in Bombay during the Quit India Movement, 1942. She was 87 years old at the time of her death.Aruna Asaf Ali was awarded International Lenin Peace Prize for the year 1964 and the Jawaharlal Nehru Award for International Understanding in 1991. She was awarded India's second highest civilian honour, the Padma Vibhushan in her lifetime in 1992, and finally the highest civilian award, the Bharat Ratna, posthumously in 1997. In 1998, a stamp commemorating her was issued. Aruna Asaf Ali marg in New Delhi was named in her honour.

Post your comments here:

Name *:

Email   : (optional)

» Your comments will be displayed only after manual approval.