General Knowledge - Honours and Awards - Discussion

Discussion :: Honours and Awards - Section 1 (Q.No.36)


Tansen Samman has been instituted by the Government of?

[A]. Gujarat
[B]. Maharashtra
[C]. Uttar Pradesh
[D]. Madhya Pradesh

Answer: Option D


No answer description available for this question.

Ramavatar Tomar said: (Jan 28, 2014)  
Tansen Samman: This prestigious award was instituted in 1980-81 and is given in the field of classical music. The award for 2009-10 was conferred on Pandit Ajay Pohankar, while the award for 2008-09 was given to the famous classical singer Ustad Gulam Mustafa Khan.

The award, which carries Rs 2 lakh in cash and a citation, is normally conferred during the 'Tansen Festival' held in Gwalior. The other recent recipients of this award include Ustad Abdul Halim Jafer Khan (2000), Ustad Amjad Ali Khan (2001), Niyaz Ahmad Khan (2002), Pandit Dinkar Kaykini(2003), Pandit Shivkumar Sharma (2004), Malini Rajurkar (2005), Sulochna Brahaspati (2006) and Pandit Goswami Gokulotsav Ji Maharaj (2007).

Post your comments here:

Name *:

Email   : (optional)

» Your comments will be displayed only after manual approval.