General Knowledge - Basic General Knowledge - Discussion

Discussion Forum : Basic General Knowledge - Section 2 (Q.No. 10)
In which of the following years, the membership of the Security Council was increased from 11 to 15 (under Article 23)?
Answer: Option
No answer description is available. Let's discuss.
11 comments Page 1 of 2.

Preeti said:   3 years ago
Thanks @Aurelia.

Aks said:   4 years ago
Thanks @Aurelia.

Aurelia said:   4 years ago
Security Council is a council or a part of the United Nations Organisation. This council focuses on maintaining control on all of its members through combined military powers of various member countries, to take action against the members who disrupt peace or break any rule. Many other functions are performed as well.

Previously in the Security Council, there were five permanent members (USA, UK, France, Russia and China) and other 6 non-permannent members.

However, later the number of non-permanent members was changed to 10 from 6 to give proper and sufficient representation to other countries.

Hope this helps.

Ntanyung said:   5 years ago
Please somebody explain this question?

Chelsy said:   6 years ago
Kindly explain this.

Venu p said:   6 years ago
I can"t understand this question. Please explain it in detail.

Jai ganesh said:   6 years ago
For what purpose this council has been setup?

Kush sharma said:   8 years ago
How many non permanent members now?

A.eshwar said:   1 decade ago
It is so easy that the article 23 is mentioned that 11 to 15 so it is the answer 1965.

Nazmul haque said:   1 decade ago
Ten non-permament members, elected by the General Assembly for two-year terms and not eligible for immediate re-election. The number of non-permanent members was increased from six to ten by an amendment of the Charter which came into force in 1965.

Each Council member has one vote. Decisions on procedural matters are made by an affirmative vote of at least nine of the 15 members. Decisions on substantive matters require nine votes, including the concurring votes of all five permanent members. This is the rule of "great Power unanimity", often referred to as the "veto" power

Post your comments here:

Your comments will be displayed after verification.