General Knowledge - Basic General Knowledge - Discussion

Discussion Forum : Basic General Knowledge - Section 1 (Q.No. 59)
G-15 is an economic grouping of
First World Nations
Second World Nations
Third World Nations
Fourth World Nations
Answer: Option
No answer description is available. Let's discuss.
27 comments Page 2 of 3.

Ayushi said:   9 years ago
G7 for first world (formerly G8).

Ashraf khan said:   9 years ago
G8 = 1st world.
G15 = 2nd world.

What is called 2nd world countries ?

Pratistha Chhibber said:   1 decade ago
First world nations:

The concept of the First World first originated during the Cold War, involving countries that were aligned with the United States. These countries were largely self-proclaimed democracies.

Second world nations :

The term "Second World" refers to the former industrial states, territory and sphere under the influence of the Union of Soviet Socialists Republic during the cold war.

Third world nations :

Third World was a term originally used to distinguish nations that neither aligned with the West nor with the East during the Cold War, many were members of the Non-Aligned Movement.

Bakkialakshmy said:   1 decade ago
First World described the NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization) countries and their allies, which were democratic, capitalist and industrialized. The First World included most of North America and Western Europe, Japan, and Australia.

Second World described the communist-socialist states. These countries were, like First World countries, industrialized. The Second world included the Soviet Union, Eastern Europe, and China.

Third World described those countries that did not align with either the First World or Second World countries after World War II and generally described less-developed countries. The Third World included the developing nations of Africa, Asia, and Latin America.

Fourth World was coined in the 1970s, referring to the nations of indigenous people that live within a country. These groups often face discrimination and forced assimilation. They are among the poorest in the world.

Priya said:   1 decade ago
What is economic grouping?

Rajni gaud said:   1 decade ago
The Group of 15 (G-15) is an informal forum set up to foster cooperation and provide input for other international groups, such as the World Trade Organization and the Group of Eight. It was established at the Ninth Non-Aligned Movement Summit Meeting in Belgrade, Yugoslavia, in September 1989, and is composed of countries from Latin America, Africa, and Asia with a common goal of enhanced growth and prosperity. The G-15 focuses on cooperation among developing countries in the areas of investment, trade, and technology. Membership has since expanded to 17 countries, but the name has remained unchanged. Chile, Iran and Kenya have since joined the Group of 15, whereas Yugoslavia is no longer part of the group; Peru, a founding member-state, decided to leave the G-15 in 2011.

Shilpa said:   1 decade ago
What is G-15?

ATANU KARMAKAR said:   1 decade ago
Last country join G-15?

Surendra said:   1 decade ago
What is the forth world nations?

Chanchal said:   1 decade ago
Dear Pooja,

Will you please make your information more clear for us? I am unable to understand what you want to say.

Post your comments here:

Your comments will be displayed after verification.