General Knowledge - Basic General Knowledge - Discussion


ESCAP stands for

[A]. Economic and Social Commission for Asia and Pacific
[B]. European Society Council for Africa and Pacific
[C]. Economic and Social Commission for Africa and Pacific
[D]. None of the above

Answer: Option A


No answer description available for this question.

Sanchit said: (Feb 28, 2011)  
Its headquarters are at BANKOK,THAILAND

Rajeshwar Joshi said: (Aug 17, 2011)  
The Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UNESCAP or ESCAP), located in Bangkok, Thailand, is the regional arm of the United Nations Secretariat for the Asian and Pacific region. It was established in 1947 (then as the UN Economic Commission for Asia and the Far East - ECAFE) to encourage economic cooperation among its member states. The name was changed to the current in 1974. It is one of five regional commissions under the administrative direction of United Nations headquarters. The ESCAP has 53 member States and nine Associate members, and reports to the UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC). As well as countries in Asia and the Pacific, it includes France, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom and the United States. The ESCAP is headed by Executive Secretary Noeleen Heyzer of Singapore. Ms. Heyzer is the first woman to head ESCAP, which is the biggest of the UN's five regional commissions, both in terms of population served and area covered.

Priyanshu said: (May 27, 2012)  
Economic and social commission for asia and pacific was established by UN in 1947 but later in 1974 its name is changed to escap. Noeleen heyzer is currently executive secretary of escap. She is the first lady.

Shivraj said: (Feb 7, 2014)  
First Executive Secretary was an indian Mr P.S Lokanathan(1947-1956). Recently Dr Shamshad Akthar was appointed as Executive Secretary, she is from Pakistan.

Post your comments here:

Name *:

Email   : (optional)

» Your comments will be displayed only after manual approval.