General Knowledge - Basic General Knowledge - Discussion


East Timor, which became the 191st member of the UN, is in the continent of

[A]. Asia
[B]. Africa
[C]. Europe
[D]. South America

Answer: Option A


No answer description available for this question.

Nirmal Mandal said: (Feb 26, 2011)  
Please indicate the location on map.

Lalitha said: (Mar 14, 2011)  
It is one among the small islands in asia nearby Indonesia

Gokul said: (May 26, 2011)  
In UN how many member are there?

Teiso said: (Jun 28, 2011)  
There are 192 members of the United Nations but there are 195 countries in the world however South Sudan would likely become the world's newest and 196th country. (the declaration of independence is not expected for South Sudan until July 9, 2011)

there are still two recognized independent countries, the Vatican City and Kosovo, that are independent and are not members of the U.N.

Taiwan meets the requirements of independent country or state status. However, due to political reasons, it fails to be recognized by the international community as independent.

Shakil said: (Feb 4, 2012)  
Teiso, very good information. Thanks.

Hardik said: (Jul 12, 2012)  

There 195 countries in the world out of which 192 countries are members of the U.N.

The newest UN member is Switzerland (2002).

South Sudan is the newest country which gained freedom on 9th july 2011. Taiwan operates as an independent country, many countries (including the U.S. ) do not officially recognize it as one.

Rambabu said: (Nov 2, 2012)  
Its total membership is 192 present now. Timor leste (east timor) as 191st member. Montengro became 192nd member of UN.

Sunil Sikarwar said: (Mar 6, 2013)  
How many members at present time in UN?

Kavi K said: (Sep 16, 2013)  
192 countries present in UN.

Pratistha Chhibber said: (Mar 7, 2014)  
East Timor is the newest country to become a part of Asia. After a bitter struggle with Indonesia it was captured by the Portuguese. After a long reign under the Portuguese it finally gained independence in 2002.

RANDHIR SHARMA said: (Mar 29, 2014)  
South sudan is 193rd member of UNO.

Tarun said: (Aug 1, 2014)  
What are the remaining two countries?

Ashima said: (Dec 17, 2014)  
Interesting of this GK quiz some knowledge will be developed.

Amit said: (Mar 15, 2015)  
Now the total member countries are 195.

Praveen said: (Jan 25, 2016)  
Till now there are 193 member countries of UNO and South Sudan became 193rd member of UNO in 2011.

Brishti said: (Jan 30, 2017)  
East Timor or Timor-Leste, officially the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste is a sovereign state in Maritime Southeast Asia. It comprises the eastern half of the island of Timor; the nearby islands of Atauro and Jaco; and Oecusse, an exclave on the northwestern side of the island surrounded by Indonesian West Timor. The country's size is about 15, 410 km2 (5, 400 sq mi).

East Timor was colonised by Portugal in the 16th century, and was known as Portuguese Timor until November 1975, when the Revolutionary Front for an Independent East Timor (FRETILIN) declared the territory's independence. Nine days later, it was invaded and occupied by Indonesia and was declared Indonesia's 27th province the following year. The Indonesian occupation of East Timor was characterised by a highly violent decades-long conflict between separatist groups (especially FRETILIN) and the Indonesian military.

Kim said: (Mar 28, 2019)  
There are 196 nations and the three remaining countries which did not join are Kosovo, Palestine and Vatican city.

Post your comments here:

Name *:

Email   : (optional)

» Your comments will be displayed only after manual approval.