Computer Science - Computer Fundamentals - Discussion


An IC contains 50 gates each of which consists of 6 components. Its belong to

[B]. LSI
[C]. MSI
[D]. SSI
[E]. None of the above

Answer: Option C


No answer description available for this question.

Neeraj Pal said: (Aug 16, 2013)  
SSI = Small scaled integration.

MSI = Multi scaled integration.

LSI = Large scaled integration.

VLSI = Very Large scaled integration.

Ranjan said: (Jun 5, 2014)  
Small Scale Integration or (SSI) - Contain up to 10 transistors or a few gates within a single package such as AND, OR, NOT gates.

Medium Scale Integration or (MSI) - between 10 and 100 transistors or tens of gates within a single package and perform digital operations such as adders, decoders, counters, flip-flops and multiplexers.

Large Scale Integration or (LSI) - between 100 and 1, 000 transistors or hundreds of gates and perform specific digital operations such as I/O chips, memory, arithmetic and logic units.

Very-Large Scale Integration or (VLSI) - between 1, 000 and 10, 000 transistors or thousands of gates and perform computational operations such as processors, large memory arrays and programmable logic devices.

Super-Large Scale Integration or (SLSI) - between 10, 000 and 100, 000 transistors within a single package and perform computational operations such as microprocessor chips, micro-controllers, basic PICs and calculators.

Ultra-Large Scale Integration or (ULSI) - more than 1 million transistors " the big boys that are used in computers CPUs, GPUs, video processors, micro-controllers, FPGAs and complex PICs.

Vijay said: (Mar 12, 2018)  
Really useful, Thanks @Ranjan.

Post your comments here:

Name *:

Email   : (optional)

» Your comments will be displayed only after manual approval.