Computer Science - Computer Fundamentals - Discussion


Which of the following bus types are used by the Apple Macintosh computer?

[A]. ISA
[B]. NuBus
[D]. MCA
[E]. PCI Bus

Answer: Option B


No answer description available for this question.

Kapila said: (Feb 18, 2012)  
What does NuBus stand for? anyone has an answer?

Sandhyaranibhuyan said: (Aug 16, 2012)  
Nubus is a 32 bit parallel computer bus

Shewangizaw Bogale said: (Feb 25, 2017)  
ISA (Industry Standard Architecture) : is a 16-bit internal bus of IBM PC. It was a proprietary bus, which allowed only IBM to create peripherals and the actual interface. ISA bus allowed a computer to automatically detect and setup computer ISA peripherals, such as a modem or sound card.

NuBus : is a 32-bit parallel computer bus. It is the expansion bus for versions of the Macintosh computers starting with the Macintosh II and ending with the Performa. It is no longer used and was replaced mostly by the peripheral component interconnect (PCI) and other parallel buses.

EISA (Extended Industry Standard Architecture) : is a standard bus architecture that extends the ISA standard to a 32-bit interface.

It was developed in part as an open alternative to the proprietary Micro Channel Architecture (MCA).

MCA (Micro Channel architecture) : was a proprietary 16- or 32-bit parallel computer bus introduced by IBM.

PCI Bus (Peripheral Component Interconnect) : is a local bus developed by Intel Corporation. Most modern PCs include a PCI bus in addition to a more general ISA expansion bus. PCI has been replaced with PCI Express (PCIe).

Post your comments here:

Name *:

Email   : (optional)

» Your comments will be displayed only after manual approval.