Civil Engineering - Building Materials - Discussion


The rocks in which argil (or clay) predominates, are called

[A]. sillicious rocks
[B]. argillaceous rocks
[C]. calcareous rocks
[D]. igneous rocks.

Answer: Option B


No answer description available for this question.

Akmal.K Panezai said: (Aug 1, 2014)  
Siliceous, argillaceous, calcareous are all Sedimentary Rock.

Siliceous rocks are sedimentary rocks that have silica (SiO2) as the principal constituent.

Argillaceous components are fine-grained (less than 2 µm) CLAY minerals such as kaolinite.

Calcareous is partly composed of calcium carbonate, in other words, containing lime or being chalky.

Muhammad Uzair said: (Oct 4, 2016)  
I don't understand this question. Please explain me.

Rabindra said: (Dec 31, 2017)  
What do you mean by Siliceous, argillaceous, calcareous are all Sedimentary Rock?

All the three are a chemical classification of rocks.

Kishan Tiwari said: (Aug 22, 2018)  
Argillaceous means?

Ghulam Mustafa Khanzada said: (Apr 19, 2019)  
The rocks having alumina or clay as their major components are known as argillaceous rocks.

Like kaolin chemically classified as argillaceous rock.

Nibha Yadav said: (Aug 11, 2022)  
Explain argillaceous.

Niva Yadav said: (Aug 11, 2022)  
Explain argillaceous rock. Please.

Post your comments here:

Name *:

Email   : (optional)

» Your comments will be displayed only after manual approval.